RSS Feed

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Posted on

It’s hard to find people who feel indifferent to Valentine’s Day. They either really love it, or they really hate it. Right now, this very second, my Facebook feed is filled with people either wishing everyone a Happy Valentine’s Day, or people posting pictures of Cupid meeting a violent end. Sigh. People. Can’t we all just get along?

I will admit that in the past I have been a Valentine’s Day grinch. A vlinch if you will. I’ve said the same things the haters say – You should celebrate your love every day, it’s rude to have a holiday that doesn’t include single people, it’s a holiday specifically created so that Hallmark has a reason to exist, etc. I’ve been there. I know.

And I agree with all of those points. But here is the thing. ALL holidays are contrived, forced events designed to make us all go out and spend money on stuff, and the more stuff the better. Cards, presents, food, booze, flowers, balloons… the sky is the limit. We are a nation of people addicted to making every day a theme, and then throwing a theme party. It’s just what we do.

If you need any proof that life is just one theme party opportunity after the next, go to any party store in the nation. Aisle after aisle of all you need for that perfect St. Patrick’s Day/Easter/4th of July/Arbor Day party. We don’t even need a actual, legit holiday to want to plan shopping trips around it. Nope. We will just grab whatever we want and make it a theme. Oscar parties, Night Before Thanksgiving, Kentucky Derby, Super Bowl, March Madness, full moon, half moon, quarter moon, harvest moon, luau, you name it. Hell, we even make a party out of standing around cooking a farm animal.

Quite frankly, we are out of control. So let’s just embrace it. Yes, Valentine’s Day is silly and overblown and we don’t really need to be reminded to celebrate our loved ones. But if you don’t like Valentine’s Day then you also think Mother’s Day and Father’s Day are stupid. And they are! Not as stupid as Grandparent’s Day, or Boss’s Day, but stupid! So what?

We thrive on celebrations. And the economy thrives on us thriving on it. I don’t want to live in a world without candy. So if today gives candy companies a boost that helps them get through the leaner times, then YAY! Yay for candy. WHY DO YOU HATE CANDY??

*deepbreath*

What I’m saying is this year, I’m all in. I am celebrating the hell out of Valentine’s Day. I love love, and today is all about love, therefore, I love this day. And I’m buying cards and presents and I’m going to out to eat (at least I better be. Casey is in charge of our romantical evening plans. This better be dinner somewhere nice and not chicken on the grill), and I’m telling my kids 75 times how much I love them and how they make every day better, and I’m going to tell Casey how much I love him, and I’m telling all of you, I love you.

Clearly I don’t mean that. I don’t even know most of you, but I got carried away. Because it’s Valentine’s Day. I hope you spend it with someone you love. I love myself, so I’m spending all day with someone I love. I’m actually taking me out to get highlights, a hair cut, and my brows waxed. I love me!

Yours in full hearts,

Bethany

 

 

 

4 responses »

  1. Loving ME is the bestest way to celebrate Valentines~ pedicure, new clothes, fro-yo tonight with the kids, it’s all for ME…and if my boyfriend wants to love ME too, with a nice bouquet or trinket, I’m ok with that too!

    Reply
  2. I’ve always been a fan of Valentine’s Day. Even when I was single. It’s fun. You get to bake stuff and make things and hug your cat….

    OH! And I updated my blogs I love with this one, because I LOVE YOU!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

