RSS Feed

Guess What’s In My Box??

Posted on

You PERV! What box did you think I meant?

Oh ya. It’s here. It’s hump day. Or as we like to call it in this house CSA DAY! Wednesday’s are pick up day for our Dilner Farm’s CSA, and I get very, very excited to see what’s in my box. Can you guess what’s in my box? Write down your guesses.

You done?

Still thinking?

Really? Not done yet?

Now? Okay! Great! Let’s see if YOU could figure out what was in my box!

First up….. a giant head of romaine lettuce. Woot! Score. If you love salads, and oh, I do love salads, this is a very happy sight indeed. If you guessed lettuce give yourself 5 points.

Leafy greens. Can I get a Hell Ya!

And following lettuce we have …I have no idea! This one I have to look up! Turns out it’s a red beet. Woot! Never had a red beet. If anyone has any red beet recipes that they love, please feel free to share! If you guessed red beets, give yours 7 points and hug the next person you see.

BUT WAIT! There’s more. If you had these humdingers on your list, give yourself 14 points and make yourself a drink, you deserve it. They’re lean, they’re mean, they’re totally green. That’s right. Garlic scapes.

It’s cool. I didn’t know what in the hell they were either.

Next up is my absolute favorite in the whole widest world. If you had strawberries as something that might be in my box, you were correct. Way to go! Give yourself 643 points and make a note to have your blood pressure checked. I care about your health.

These are De.Lish.Us.

Would my box be complete without two ripe tomatoes? No. It wouldn’t. A correct guess here gets you minus 378 points, because I hate tomatoes, and quite frankly, you should know that by now.

I really don’t know how you people eat these.

And finally… presenting two things together because it’s getting late and I still have to do my INSANE workout…… a cucumber and what could possible be the world’s largest zucchini! Were these on your list? 73 points. A piece.

I used my water bottle so you get a sense of scale. And also because every picture I took of someone holding it so you could see how big it was looked pervy.

Add up all of your points, divide it by two, multiply it by PI and if your total spells out BOOB on your calculator, you WIN!

That’s been this week’s exciting installation of Guess What’s In My Box. Tune in next week when we will once again dive right on in to my box and see what’s rattling around!

Yours in fresh produce,

Bethany

11 responses »

  1. Yes, because I am a dork… just boil the beets with the peels on and eat them straight (well take peels off then eat.) AMAZING. OR… with garlic salad dressing is also yummy. I love my CSA… except I need a juicer to keep up. Juiced beets are delish too.

    Reply
    • A juicer is on my list for sure. I’ve had a lot of people tell me they are wonderful. Also, I think it would be rad if people called me and were like, What are you going? And I was like, Juicing.

      I will try boiled beets and thanks for the tip!

      Reply
  2. I seem to recall that garlic scapes are really yummy grilled.

    Reply
  3. Have had a juicer since watching “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead” on Netflix…great documentary! I order my local produce from http://www.greenling.com…love the home delivery and variety! They even sell pre-cut veggie and fruit “bags” to put straight in the juicer for less mess.

    Reply
    • And now I have a new documentary to add to my list… I am going to very busy watching documentaries and juicing things!

      Reply
  4. that might just be the largest zucchini I have ever seen!

    I host a weekly CSA link party and would love for you to be a part of it. Come and check it out and add your link. http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/20/whats-in-the-box-31/. Hope to see you there 🙂

    Reply
  5. Beets are also delicious roasted. Clean them up, wrap them in foil (don’t peel), and roast for 40 minutes to an hour. Then cool, peel, eat. You can toss them with feta cheese as well. If you like that.

    Garlic scapes make delicious and very mild pesto. You can use them just like garlic — like I said, just more mild tasting.

    I too get very excited about CSA day. Which is today! Yay!

    Reply
    • Yay! You get to play Guess What’s in my Box! It’s quickly becoming a favorite in our house! Happy producing!

      Reply
  6. I agree with roasting them- I think it’s far easier than boiling them, plus you don’t lose any nutrients to the water. You should also cut the leaves off at the base of the root as soon as you get home, otherwise those leaves will continue to suck up sugar from the root. If the leaves are on the tender side, you can cook those up also, in the same way you’d cook up any dark greens like kale or spinach. I toss them in my little toaster oven as soon as I get home with the box and they’re usually done by the time I’m done washing everything else in the box. This time of year, I like to use all that lettuce up and make salads with roasted beets, goat cheese or blue cheese, candied walnuts or pecans, drizzled with balsamic vinaigrette. Throw a few hunks of bread on the side, and call it dinner. In the fall when they start coming again, roast them up with the sweet potatoes or winter squash you’ll surely get with some roast chicken or sausage on the side.

    We used our garlic scapes up last night by just sauteing in some oil, fresh scallions, oregano, and lemon juice over pasta. Yum.

    May I propose an information exchange? I’ve been doing a CSA box for many years now and have lots of creative tricks for using stuff up. I’m happy to share this knowledge for info on the Mt. Lebanon area (which I think you’ve mentioned is where you live?) We’ve moved back to the area after 10 years, and are trying to figure out where we want to live. We left after college, so we never really lived here as adults, so we’re a bit lost. We like Mt. Lebanon so far because of the nice houses with character that aren’t McMansions, good school district for the kid, etc. Any cooler areas, like with a nice coffee shop in walking distance? Are you snickering because there is no such thing there? This is why I need help.

    Reply
    • Michelle,
      Welcome back! We do live in Mt. Lebanon, and the reason I love it is that there are quite a few ‘cool’ areas. We live within walking distance of the 19 business district (Uptown, as they like to call it). There are two coffee shops, multiple restaurants and bars, shops, two farmer’s market (in season), and loads of outdoor events over the summer. It’s also close to public transportation, and, if you’re in to running, lots of great running routes.

      I don’t know how helpful I am right now for an info ‘exchange’, as I don’t have any of my OWN info, I’m just mining all of yours! Maybe we can start a Mt. Lebo CSA support group or something. If there is wine involved, too, all the better!

      Thanks for this foodie tips, too. Believe me when I tell you, I need all the help I can get!!

      Reply
      • Thanks, Bethany. I meant a foodie-tips-for-Mt. Lebo-tips exchange, so in my mind we’re even. Having said that, if we do move there, I would happily join a CSA support group plus wine! Fair warning, though, I will make you eat one of my homegrown heirloom tomatoes to convince you that you do like tomatoes, just not the crap hothouse ones they sell in stores. Hopefully we’ll be there by next year; we need to sell our old house, get our finances in order, blah, blah. For now, I must suffer living with my Mom, only a mile away from Frick Park. A true hardship now that I scored a used BOB jogging stroller on Craigslist 🙂

Leave a Reply

