RSS Feed

Updates and Such, the Why Yes, I AM on Vacation Again Edition

Posted on

Jones isn’t sure how he feels about the boardwalk. Or the ice cream.

Greetings my friends! I am writing this from the great state of Delaware, about a block away from the little part of the Atlantic coastline called Rehoboth Beach. I believe Rehoboth is an ancient Native American term for salt water taffy, but I’m not sure.

We are here for the 30th Smith Family Vacation. That’s right. 30th. For 30 years in a row the whole clan gets together to spend a an entire week vacationing with each other. There are the four Smith siblings, of which Casey’s dad is the brother, and all of their kids, grandkids, inlaws, outlaws, etc. It’s usually about 23-27 people, and in all 30 years no one has ever killed anybody. So they keep doing it.

It’s hard to find something to do that will entertain everyone, so usually I just drink the whole time, then everything is fun! Taking 7 wiggly kids the beach? Bring it. Corral half the family for an impromptu trip to Funland, towing 7 tired, cranky, sand-encrusted children? You’re on. Coordinate getting 23 people to a sushi bar for a 6:00 pm dinner reservation? Pass the Merlot and let’s DO IT.

I don’t know why they don’t serve drinks at Funland, btw. Thankfully it’s road soda-friendly. Almost every parent there had a to go cup of some sort. You HAVE to. Have you been to Funland? I guess Screaming, Out of Control Children Land was already taken.

In all seriousness, it’s always a very fun vacation. They are all wonderful, amazing people and I’m not just saying that because Casey’s family makes up 2/3 of my readership. They are also huge winos. Our second night here we drank an entire case of red wine. A CASE of it. These are my people.

And we do always come up with some seriously fun shit to do. For instance, our first outing was karaoke at the Purple Parrot, lead by two 6 foot drag queens. I did a moving rendition of I Touch Myself, and, if I do say so myself, I sort of killed it.

We also did a a Paddle and Pints tour, which meant a kayak trip and then a tour of DogFish Head brewery.

Casey paddling, me taking funny pictures of myself. A trend that continued the entire trip. Paddling is for suckas.

 

They make you wear really sexy glasses for the brewery tour. To whit:

C’mere. Gimme a kiss.

Further proof that life is unfair – Casey actually still looks good in those damn things.

Today Casey is golfing with his dad, and I’m going to go do some serious damage to our bank account at the Tanger Outlets. With his card. Bwhahaha. It’s our last night here, so I plan on going out Bethany style. With any luck, that will be a whole ‘nother blog post.

I will say that in the middle of all of this, I have managed to get in two runs and I’m going again today. Calories in, calories out. In theory.

Moving on.

I neglected to tell you what was in my box last week. I was very, very, very excited to see this:

 

No, it’s not two Praying Mantises getting it on. That’s CORN! Delicious corn on the cob. We cooked it on the grill for dinner Friday, and it was awesome. We had another new edition. Can you guess what it is? Close your eyes and think real hard.

READY?

GREEN BEANS!!

I actually hate green beans, but the kids seem to like them. And they look really good. And I feel like I should like green beans. Imma give them a chance. Especially since I ate cauliflower and actually liked it. Anything is possible.

I have no idea what’s in my box this week. My mom had to pick it up since we are on vacation, and I’m not asking what’s in her box. That’s just rude.

So I have my last night here, then I get to see my brother, then it’s home to hang out with my bestie Dana, who is in from New York. It’s been a great week so far, and it’s only going to get better. Unless I get hit by a truck today or something. That would sort of suck.

Off to shop!

Your’s in Debtness,

Bethany

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Replace wine with Jack Daniels, and then they become MY people…

    Reply
  2. Getting ready to have a similar Fehl Family Fun adventure next week…at the top of the grocery list…bucket of margarita mix, mojito mix, daquiri mix (multiple flavors). Them my people! 🙂

    Reply
  3. That little boy boat photo is the cutest!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

