RSS Feed

I Ain’t Scared of no Sauce Pan

Posted on

I am not much of a cooker. I never cook. I think we’ve talked about this. And basically every time I cook I write a blog post about it so here goes.

I COOKED DINNER! AND IT WAS GOOD. WOOOOOO.

Some back story. I went vegetarian last November. I actually TRIED to go vegan but cheese.

I just can’t quit you.

I have gone vegetarian before, the last time was when I was pregnant with Jones. And it pissed Casey off to no end because, in his words, he doesn’t have any ‘go to’ vegetarian dinners. After three months of culinary mutiny, I caved and went back to eating meat. And it just didn’t appeal to me at all.

As time went on, I would actually get grossed out by meat. Finally I sat down with Casey and told him those words that no man ever wants to hear. Then I told him I was going vegetarian and that was the end of it.

I am not a totally evil person though, so I told him that I would take on more kitchen duties, and I would make every effort to make meals that can easily add meat and VIOLA. Everyone is happy.

So three months later, he is wondering when I was planning on starting this. FINE! Today.

I decided on a creamy carrot curry coconut soup, because I am a huge fan of alliteration and the letter C. Casey was out shoveling snow (another perk of being a woman! Boobs, and last person asked to shovel snow), Kyle was hanging out in his room with friends, so my only help was Jones. It was him and I, an iPad cued up to some recipes, and a glass of wine. For me. Not Jones. He is more a bourbon man.

It smelled SO GOOD. Curry is like crack to me. If I actually knew what crack was like, I would probably not make that analogy.

It smelled SO GOOD. Curry is like crack to me. If I actually knew what crack was like, I would probably not make that analogy.

I choose a very simple recipe with only 6 ingredients – Carrots, onion, ginger, veggie broth, curry and coconut milk. Idiot proof, and hopefully also Bethany proof. While I got all but the coconut milk on to simmer, my assistant chef and I went to work on the kale chips.

He is pretty amazing in the kitchen. Both of kids are. GENETICS! Funny how they work.

He is pretty amazing in the kitchen. Both of kids are. GENETICS! Funny how they work.

20 minutes later, WE HAD DINNER. And it was good. The soup was GOOD. I mean GOOD. Full of creamy goodness.

Legit yummy. Like, people who aren't related to me or trying to make sex with me would think it was good.

Legit yummy. Like, people who aren’t related to me or trying to make sex with me would think it was good.

And the kale chips were crunchy, salty perfection.

kalechips

I just upped my marriageability score by like ten. If I start shaving my legs consistently and fix that pesky snoring issue, I just may get Casey to ask me the big question – you know the one – Baby, what’s for dinner?

Yours in out to buy an apron,

Bethany

2 responses »

  1. Shaving is overrated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

